28 Mar How to Get a Fishing License for Your Next Adventure
You’ve packed all of your equipment. The hotels are booked, and your friends are already on their way. It feels like you’ve got everything ready for your fishing vacation, but there’s this nagging feeling in the back of your mind that you’ve forgotten something.
That’s when it hits you. A fishing license is necessary to participate in your upcoming adventure legally!
Although it is usually straightforward to get a fishing license in most areas, there are times when limitations are present because of biomass issues. Some states issue permits to locals before visitors, and rare species might require you to enter a lottery system.
This brief guide will take you through the processes needed to obtain your fishing license.
Fishing Licenses Contribute $700 Million to the American Economy
Each year, fishing licenses and permits generate millions of dollars for the local economy. Virtually all of these funds go toward restoration and conservation, but these activities are the only fundraising source. Sportfishing programs from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service generate even more for dedicated enhancement projects.
Since 1952, over $8 billion in the sport fishing program has helped to create grants and funding for state agencies to preserve wildlife opportunities. Additional resources come from fishing equipment taxes and import duties.
When you’re ready to go fishing, the only thing most anglers need to do is head down to their local sporting goods store. It could be the general store, a gas station, or a hardware retailer in smaller towns.
You’ll need to bring identification and the money required to obtain the license. If you intend to pursue certain species (such as salmon in Washington State), you might need to purchase additional reporting cards when you grab something you want to keep.
Most fishing licenses are affordable, priced at $40 or less. If you only want a temporary pass, the cost is often less than $15. The two exceptions are often Montana and Alaska because of the influx of out-of-state visitors they receive for those activities.
You Must Carry Your Fishing License with You
Fish and Game officers have the authority to contact you if they feel that you’re operating outside of the rules when fishing. That means they can ask to see your license, reporting cards, or other forms of identification to ensure everything is up to date.
These officials have the authority to issue tickets or fines if they determine your activities are not in compliance with local laws.
The one issue that trips up most anglers involves the free fishing days that many states offer. Although you don’t need a license during those times, you still need to fill out reporting cards if you catch a specific species. Those items are not free.
These rules also apply to children. Although the minimum age for a fishing license varies, all anglers must fill out a reporting card.
If you have any questions, please check the appropriate website for the state or province you intend to visit so that you know what to do.